Back Stateside

I’m tired and jet-lagged, fighting to stay awake until a decent hour, so I apologize for how this post is going to turn out. But, here I am, back from a wonderful time in Ireland, and I now have thousands of pictures to go through. Literally. I filled up my 16GB memory card, which is about 3,000 pictures. Plus the ones from my point-and-shoot.

I won’t be posting them all here, obviously, but I will certainly share some of the highlights and some of the learning experiences.

One thing I learned about myself as a photographer on this trip, is that there are certain things I like to take pictures of, aside from the typical person-standing-in-front-of-the-tourist-site photos. Even in just a quick scan of my photos from the past 10 days, I’m able to put them into a few major categories:

  1. Signs
  2. Flowers/Plants
  3. Buildings
  4. Farm Animals
  5. Beverages (and, sometimes food, too. Although more so in places like New Orleans than in Ireland)
One other thing I learned, out of necessity, was how to use the manual focus on my lenses*. This was a result of my autofocus kind of freaking out on me at one point, and not being able to focus on anything at all. (I was kind of worried about this, but the AF seems to be working okay now.) But, I managed to learn quickly how to manually focus, and it turns out that in some instances, I actually prefer this method!
*Notice the plural, lenses. Another thing I haven’t had time to post about is the new lens my parents got me for my birthday! Expect more on that at some point, too! So much catching up to do!
5 thoughts on “Back Stateside

  1. Welcome home, Cary! Can’t wait to see some pictures and hear what kind of lens you got 🙂
    What were you trying to shoot when your AF went wacky? I know sometimes it can act up in low-light or low contrast situations. Lemme know if you need some help trouble “shooting” 😉

  2. The lens wackiness happened when I was trying to shoot some pre-sunset pics. I guessed it was one of two things. 1. I was taking photos directly into the sun, and maybe like our eyeballs, a camera doesn’t like looking into the sun for long periods of time, or 2. I was changing my lenses a lot, and perhaps some dust got on the sensor or something. Do either of those sound like feasible possibilities?

    • The first is relatively common. The way focusing works is based on some nifty math in the camera body which basically depends on there being some sort of contrast or lines or something in the photo. If you point your camera at a blank white surface and try to focus, you’ll experience the same problem. Only with the sun, the camera is getting so much light that everything else gets obliterated, so the camera has nothing to work with. (At least, I think that’s what’s going on. I could be wrong).

  3. Pingback: Ireland Theme #1: Flowers « Clueless Photographer

Leave a Reply

