My Camera Is Going to Travel in Style!

One of the reasons I wanted a great camera was so I could take amazing photos when I travel. Pretty soon I’m finally going to be able to do that. (And I’ll finally have something more interesting to photograph other than stuff around my house!) In addition to two weekend trips coming up, I am super-excited to be going to Ireland at the end of April!

But, one of the things that worries me about traveling with a good camera is how to cart it around safely, yet somewhat stylishly.

This has been quite the quest for me. I researched online. I went to camera stores. I Googled things like “cute camera bags” and “camera bags for women”. I even found some adorable bags that looked more like purses than photography gear. (Like these and these.) But then I decided most of them were way out of my price range.

To make a long story short, I ended up actually purchasing two different camera bags (that I now have to return), before I found the perfect one.

Today I got my new Lowepro Passport Sling bag!  Not too big. Not too small. Not too “old manish”.

I’m so excited to use this bag on my next trip, because not only is it perfectly designed to safely carry camera gear, but it also has room for other stuff I’ll need on the road, like a cell phone, wallet, and even a water bottle! Plus, it doesn’t look at all like a camera bag, which is good not only for style but for the security of not screaming out, “Hey! I’m a tourist and I have a really expensive camera in my bag. Come and mug me!”

So, here it is:

One other little thing I learned from this adventure: it’s almost as hard to photograph a camera bag as it is to find a great one!

2 thoughts on “My Camera Is Going to Travel in Style!

  1. Yippiee.. can’t wait to see the pictures of ireland.. my dream vacation is to travel great britain, england, scotland, ireland and wales. see some castles. good luck with the trip and the preparation.

    PS: I am looking for a low profile camera bag and thanks to you, I think I have one in mind.. 😛

  2. Thanks. I will certainly be taking plenty of pictures, and posting several on here.

    I was in Ireland in 2008, and I have some amazing photos just from my little point-and-shoot. I can’t wait to see how great the ones from this trip turn out!

Leave a Reply

