The Art of Exclusion

When hearing about my aspirations to develop my photography skills, a coworker of mine (who also happened to study photography somewhat seriously in college) shared with me some words of photographic wisdom from her studies —  “Where painting is an art of inclusion, photography is an art of exclusion.”

She also pointed out that one of the biggest flaws of those new to photography is that people are too afraid to get close to their subject. “The closer, the better,” she says.

I’ve noticed in my own photography, I still have room for quite a bit of improvement when it comes to getting closer, and stepping out of my comfort zone when it comes to personal space.

However, in the photo below I’m pretty proud of myself for breaking down the barrier a bit.

While I love this photo, I do have one complaint. I’m not completely satisfied by the framing of this shot. While I like the way the focus is on the RoM logo, it really bugs me that the “MODERN” that appears to the left of “ITALIAN” is cut off. I know the word is there, and it drives me crazy that I can’t see it.

7 thoughts on “The Art of Exclusion

  1. Nice photo. I wouldn’t be too worried about the ‘Modern’ not being in the frame – I didn’t take too much notice of that. The very tips of your fingers in the frame draws the eye away from the main subject of the picture.

    Apart from that it looks good! Keep up the good work.

  2. What sort of lens are you using? If you want to get more bokeh in pictures I couldn’t recommend a prime-focus lens enough – it’s going to be faster and allow for you to just keep what you want focused.

  3. Right now I’m just using the basic kit lens, because that’s all I have. I’m trying to master the basics of my camera, and figure out its limitations before investing in another lens. Although, I’m already finding myself wanting a new one, and feeling very overwhelmed with all the options.

    I’m actually most interested in taking good scenic photos (like on my upcoming trip to Ireland) and I’m at a total loss for what the best kind of lens would be.

    Suggestions welcome! 🙂

  4. Ok. I really recommend getting a fast-prime focus lens – it is going to teach you more about getting things out of the frame than most zooms will ever do. I personally shoot Nikon, but Canon has similar gear.
    From a 5-second glance at an online photography store I would recommend the EF 50mm f/1.8 (at a whopping AU$135) or an EF 28mm f/2.8 (A bit more, at AU$326). Both are going to be good lenses.
    The tricky part is then nutting out the actual 35mm equivalent focal length (the image sensor is smaller than a piece of 35mm film, so it’s the same as using a larger lens). The crop factor is 1.6x the focal length on the lens.
    So with this in mind the 50mm f/1.8 becomes an 81mm lens and the 28mm becomes a 45mm. I would suggest that you get the 28mm – it’s going to be more useful. If money’s a problem then go for the 50mm. They will both be awesome bits of glass.

    I hope I didn’t confuse you!

Leave a Reply

